Home / Exam Pattern / SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018 Tier 1/2/3/4 (Descriptive Paper) Test Pattern

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018 Tier 1/2/3/4 (Descriptive Paper) Test Pattern

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Candidates who are preparing for the SSC CGL Examination must check the SSC CGL Exam Pattern of Tier 1/2/3/4. The organization is going to conduct SSC tier-3 exam through offline mode. Candidates should know that SSC tier-3 exam will be descriptive type, so they should go through the SSC CGL tier 3 exam pattern from here.

SSC CGL tier-3 is based on essay writing and letter writing. Date of tier -3 exams is going to announce on official website of the staff selection commission. So aspirants are advised that they should visit the website on regular basis.

SSC CGL 2018 Exam Pattern:

Staff Selection Commission had conducted the SSC tier-2 exam on 9.3.2018 which was computer based test. For a better preparation, aspirants should be aware about the SSC CGL new exam pattern.

Get the complete SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018 from this page which is created and well maintained by the team member of www.recruitmentinboxx.com.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Applicants who have applied for SSC CGL Recruitment 2018 they are needed appear in recruitment exam. Candidates will be selected on basis of their performances in the combined graduate level examination and the examination will be conducted in four tiers as specified below. Please have a look at change SSC CGL exam pattern.

Tier – IObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer Based (online)
Tier – IIObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer Based (online)
Tier – IIIDescriptive Paper in English/HindiPen and Paper mode
Tier – IVSkill Test/Computer Proficiency TestWherever Applicable

SSC CGL Tier I Exam Pattern

  • It is a computer-based online test of 200 marks in 60 minutes of time duration.
  • There is a negative marking of 0.50 Marks for each wrong answer.
  • There is no sectional cut off according to the SSC CGL tier 1 exam pattern.




AGeneral Intelligence & Reasoning2550
BGeneral Awareness2550
CQuantitative Aptitude2550
DEnglish Comprehension2550

Check Here: SSC CGL Previous Papers

CGL Tier II Exam Pattern: 

  • Applicants who qualify the Tier-1 are eligible to appear in Tier- 2.
  • As Per SSC CGL tier 2 exam pattern question paper will be online-based including 4 papers as given in the table. There is no sectional cut off.
  • The negative marking for each wrong answer as follows:
  • Paper I, Paper III & Paper IV – 0.5 marks and Paper II – 0.25 marks
IQuantitative Abilities100200
IIEnglish Language & Comprehension200200
IVGeneral Studies
(Finance and Economics)
100 (60+40)200

CGL Tier III Exam Pattern:

  • Applicants who qualify tier II exam they will eligible to appear in Tier III Exam
  • This is a descriptive type paper of 100 marks and will be conducted in Pen and Paper mode.
  • It will be of total 60 minutes of time duration.
Mode of ExaminationScheme of ExaminationTotal MarksTime
Pen and Paper modeDescriptive Paper in English/ Hindi (writing of Essay/ Precis/ Letter /Application Writing etc.Total marks 10060 minutes

For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 80 Minutes

Get Complete Details On: SSC CGL Syllabus

CGL Tier IV Exam Pattern:

Tier-4 exam pattern will consist of Computer Proficiency Test and/ or Data Entry Skills Test. This exam will be held in the month of December 2018 and this is a written paper.

  • Computer Proficiency Test (for Asst. Section Officer in CSS POST ONLY) OR
  • Data Entry Skill Test at Speed of 8000 key depressions per hour (for Tax Assistant Post Only).

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) is an autonomous organization of India which conduct various recruitment exam to recruit eligible candidates for various posts in the various ministries and departments of the government of India and subordinate offices. Candidates who will appear in SSC CGL Exam 2018 they are suggested to start their preparation for the exam according to the latest SSC CGL Paper Pattern which are given above in detail for your convenience .

Know More About: SSC CGL Preparation Strategy

Must Know About Changes in SSC CGL New Exam Pattern 2018

  • A candidates needs to qualify in each and every Tier in order to move to the next one.
  • The Final Merit List will be prepared based on marks secured in Tier I, Tier II and Tier III.
  • SSC CGL Tier IV is qualifying in Nature.
  • There will be no sectional cutoff
  • Candidate should be qualified in all 3 tier examinations.
  • No Sectional cut-off
  • Total Marks of SSC CGL is 500 (200+200+100)
  • Tier 1 & Tier 2 exam mode will be CBT (Computer Based Test)
  • Tier 3 exam mode will be offline and descriptive
  • Tier 4 will be only for qualify (Typing Test)


You need to visit the Official Link for more details about SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2018. If you want to obtain latest information time to time, you need to stay connected with our web page that is www.recruitmentinboxx.com.

You May Also Like To Visit This Section

SSC CGL ResultSSC CGL Selection Procedure
SSC CGL Exam NotificationSSC CGL Answer Key
SSC CGL Important DatesSSC CGL Admit Card
SSC Online NotificationSSC CGL Result


  1. Avanti Sunil Badge

    On my cast certificate and leaving certificate my religion is mentioned as BUDDHIST.On state level exams I am granted as schedule cast
    On central level exams this process is same or not??

  2. Avanti Sunil Badge

    Please tell us detailed syllabus for ssc clg 2016

  3. Can a student in final year apply?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *